Home Alone

I love the movie Home Alone. I love its sequel even more. What I do NOT enjoy is actually being home alone. I can’t recall a single night of my life that I’ve spent entirely alone. Until this week.

20140717-095649-35809534.jpg

Growing up in a household of seven, there wasn’t much opportunity to experience alone time. And college was college. And post-college, it seems like I had 10 roommates at all times. That’s a bit of an exaggeration…but also kind of true. And if it ever got to be past 9pm and nobody was home yet, the unease would start to set in.

People have exposed me to too many (meaning less than 5) scary movies in my time for me to simply enjoy a night on my own. When I was 12, my cousins and I watched The Ring. None of us could pee alone for a week. Years later as a senior in college, my roommates had a night where we watched Saw. WORST.IDEA.EVER. Especially since that week just coincidentally happened to be some weird convention where people dressed up like the tricycle freak from that film. I refused to go anywhere alone after that. And then last year, my roommate began watching this creepy film with Daniel Radcliffe one evening (something with a lady in black), and not knowing it would be a horror film, I sat down to join. Regret to the max.

Now my husband is out of town for 2 nights, and I have to put on my brave face and learn how to sleep while home alone. So what exactly have I done to keep myself busy in the evenings?

Everything. I put on a Matt Maher playlist and got to work. I deep cleaned our bathroom, tub included. I reorganized the linen closet, under our bed, and the shelves over our toilet. I spent 25 minutes chasing a fly around the apartment with a bottle of febreze. I did the dishes. I took out the trash and recycling. I watered the plants. I consolidated some boxes still laying around. I watched some of Catching Fire (I couldn’t resist – Kevin’s not here). Skyped with a friend. Read my journal from Summer 2011. Watched and episode of Charmed (once again…husband out of town). And I read some of Harry Potter to put me in a happy place.

Did it all work? Well, Kevin comes home tonight and I’m still alive, so I’d say it’s a win.

One day I’ll be able to cope. Or just have 10 kids to keep me company.

Leave a comment

Filed under Apartment Living, Misc

Leave a Reply

