A feast to start the month off right!

A feast for one of our favorite Saints and for the beginning of our favorite month! On me and Kevin’s first date, we spoke of our favorite Saints and why they were so important to us. It was well-known from the beginning that I had a special place for St. Therese (along with most of the Catholic world!) and Kevin felt very close with St. Patrick.

It was actually under an image of St. Therese that we met! At a young adult gathering at a friend’s apartment, Kevin was inquiring to some ladies about their love for St. Therese (pointing to the painting) – I forced my way in there, did my thing, etc.

After dating for a few months, dear Mother Olga suggested each of us pray to the other’s favorite Saint each day in a special way for the other. So Kevin bought for me a medal of St. Patrick and a medal of St. Therese for himself, which we both wore from that day forward.

Engagement!

Our engagement also took place at the feet of a St. Therese statue at my home parish in PA. It was a beautiful full circle (and she was there on our wedding day!). Soooo…Kevin and I are quite fond of her and super grateful for her intercession in our lives and, more specifically, our relationship.

I had the joy of visiting the National Shrine of St. Therese outside Detroit this past Easter when I visited my close friend, Elise. It was super beautiful and peaceful, and I just cannot talk her up enough. She is true to her promises, that little one. She does so much for us up in heaven, and I’m grateful to have such a powerful intercessor by my side!

So for our celebration of this beautiful day entering such a glorious month, Kevin and I enjoyed a little feast of our own. A nice autumnal meal if you will. Cider-Dijon glazed pork chops, hot spiced apple cider, and homemade pumpkin ice cream (dairy-free!). A delicious evening indeed! Happy feast day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Marriage, Recipes

Leave a Reply

