Oh, beautiful Quebec

I receive all of the promotional emails from Fairmont since Kevin and I stayed there on our honeymoon (the Chateau Banff Springs and Fairmont Lake Louise), and my heart aches every time I see a photo like this…

Chateau Frontenac

Their hotels are so phenomenally gorgeous and make me feel like a Queen just looking at them.

Kevin and I have been to Quebec together once on a pilgrimage when we were dating; we stayed in Montreal at a retreat house next to St. Joseph’s Oratory (so.awesome.).  We had plans to go up to Quebec City to the shrine of St. Anne (and to see Le Chateau Frontenac), but it snowed multiple feet of snow…so our plans were thwarted. Our trip was by no means ruined – Montreal had much to offer. But we really hope to go back to Quebec once more while we’re living in New England.

Magical snow storm in Montreal

I would looooove to stay at the Chateau – chances are it won’t happen anytime soon because of $$$$ but it will still be a treat just to even see it in person. In my French class in high school, we read this random book about bears and it kept referencing Le Chateau Frontenac, and so, I feel like I’ve always been destined to go. And St. Anne is my patron Saint, so to go to her shrine would be so great! We’ve been thinking we might go for a long weekend at the end of April for my birthday, but every time I get an email like this, Kevin and I have exchanges like this:

“UGHHH MY HEART!” “Let’s just do it…now!” “Maybe we should just spend Christmas alone in Canada!” “When is the soonest you can take an extra day off?” “Why do we not live in Canada?” “Do you think we can afford-…okay, never mind.”

Until then, yield to bear… 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Marriage, Travel

Leave a Reply

