Whole 30: Day 9

Here I am. Day 9 of my Whole 30. The first week had it’s ups and it’s downs. The meals I’ve been making haven’t been radically different from how I normally eat, but I’ve missed the cheese, the occasional afternoon sweet treat, and of course my greatest guilty pleasure: chips in any and all forms.

Also, my parents were in town this weekend and we ate out a few times and THAT was a challenge. When I’m out, I throw all nutrition guidelines to the wind and eat whatever I’m interested in having…but alas, I could not do that. It actually turned out okay and I had some delicious meals thanks to some very accommodating restaurants. But I still so badly wanted the bread that was at the table.

A big flop in my first week included getting sick. I still don’t know if it was my body reacting to the no sugar-grains-dairy mixture, but it came. I lost my voice completely to a painful soar throat followed by a miserable head cold. BUT. BUT BUT BUT…I still kept to the whole 30. Minus some honey for my throat (it was painful).

I’m still a bit sick, but pushing through. Still no real benefits that I’m seeing, and I’m bummed that I’m still so tired (fatigue is one of those things I’m trying to cure in my life), but it could also just be that I’m still sick and recovering. And it’s early on. I have no plans of quitting, though. And I figure I’ll just keep going until Easter…so a whole 34ish.

One notable fact from today: I am not craving grains or dairy. Which is pretty crazy. I mean, if you were to put a slice of pizza in front of me…I’d want it. Badly. But just don’t do that, and I’ll be fine. So that’s exciting!

Leave a comment

Filed under Good Living

Leave a Reply

